Employment Law


Churches and Title VII Liability

Title VII Background

Disability Discrimination in the Federal Workplace

Long before the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), which prohibits discrimination against private sector employees and applicants on the basis of disability, Congress passed the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. The Rehabilitation Act prohibits disability discrimination in the federal employment sector.

The Senior Executive Service

The Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 created the Senior Executive Service (SES) as a third branch of the federal civil service. The SES is designed to be a group of policy-level executives selected for their leadership skills. The SES is completely separate from the other two branches of the service, the excepted service and the competitive service. The Office of Personnel Management (OPM) is responsible for overseeing the federal civil service, including the SES.

Title VII Retaliation Claims

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 makes it illegal for employers to discriminate against employees on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. It also prohibits retaliation against employees who report or otherwise complain about wrongdoing under the Act. In other words, employers may not fire or take other adverse action against employees based upon an employee’s allegation that Title VII has been violated.

Unlawful Restraint or Coercion under The NLRA

the National Labor Relations Act)